Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members

Possible Disc Golf article sources Options
mandiglia
Posted: Wednesday, April 25, 2007 4:22:21 PM

Greetings! I am a local writer looking to put together some materials about disc golf. I would like to get as much information as I can about the sport and I am looking for a number of people to interview. I am also considering doing more of a service journalism piece, giving beginners and people who know nothing about the sport information about how to get started, the equipment they'll need, the disc golf community, local courses... things of that nature. Any help I can get would be much appreciated!
Thanks,
Amanda
Discgolfkid
Posted: Wednesday, April 25, 2007 5:04:22 PM

Here's a webpage that does a pretty decent job of explaining disc golf to new players. http://www.disclife.com/whatis.shtml

You can check out local courses on the courses tab from the homepage of cincinnatidiscgolf.com
discnforfun
Posted: Thursday, April 26, 2007 8:58:46 AM

We are teaching an Introduction to Disc Golf course at Cincinnati State. Feel free to PM me if you'd like some information about the course. It covers a lot of the topics you have mentioned.
bobherb
Posted: Thursday, April 26, 2007 10:16:18 AM

Disc golf is very analogous to "ball" golf (as disc golfers refer to the ancient game). Some folks play occasionally, strictly for fun; whereas others enter competitions ranging from "local", moderately friendly, low expense leagues/tournaments to World class, Worldwide (not just in the U.S.) tournaments with cash prizes sometimes in 5 figures. Barry Shultz (a full time Disc golfer) won $11,000 in the USDGC tournament last year (a three day tournament).

If you read through a few threads on this website and visit the PDGA.com website you will see much about our sport in terms of grass roots and International levels.

Cincinnati has close to thirty courses now - perhaps more than any other Metro area.