Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members

Stability Options
Valet
Posted: Friday, January 08, 2010 8:16:52 PM

Can anyone explain disc stability to me?  What is under/over stable?  Can a plastic play a role in the stability, is it the disc, or does the weight play into it?  Sorry, I'm a newbie and this is one of the many things that puzzle me as I learn the game. 

L_Stephens
Posted: Friday, January 08, 2010 9:06:22 PM

It's a very simple question with a very long and complicated answer. See me tomorrow at Harbin and I will explain everything to you in a detail that may have you looking like a deer caught in the headlights...but a simple answer is:

When thrown flat for a right handed person...with perfect technique....stable means it flies reasonably straight as an arrow....understable means it will fly to the right...either as a nice slow turnover...or to the extreme that it flips hard...hits the ground on its edge and becomes a roller....Overstable means that it will go left....either as slow turning hyzer...or to the extreme of a hard left meat hook.

Different plastics cause variations in how the wind moves over the disc in flight and how that flight plate reacts and moves...sometimes because one plastic is actually a different shape than another because of the cool down process at the factory....the color of the disc can also cause different stabilities because a blue coloring will cause the disc to cool at a different rate than a red coloring additive and thus slightly alter the shape and/or the exterior texture.

Weights affect stability because it is harder to throw a 174G driver as fast as a lighter driver...speed is the factor here...how fast that air is flowing over that airplane wing we call a disc...also different weight disc may have plastic thicker or thinner at different parts of the disc causing slight alterations to the gyroscopic forces....

Anyway...disc golf is a lesson is Physics....where your knowledge expands the more you play.