Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members

Newbie Question Options
taylorcm
Posted: Tuesday, May 22, 2007 5:41:15 AM

I'm a newbie of a sort...I played the course in Oxford 20 years ago as a student at Miami and have now moved back to Oxford and started playing again. When I used to play, I played with a regular frisbee (old beat up whammo as a matter of fact) and did pretty well. I just invested in a golf disc (a mid-range) and may eventually buy other discs (driver, putters, etc.). Any tips on making the adjustment from a regular frisbee to a golf disc? I'm already noticing that my discs regulalry go left at the end of the flight. Any help is appreciated. Thanks
finnhawc
Posted: Tuesday, May 22, 2007 6:33:03 AM

Go to the course challenge this Saturday and talk to the vendors there they'll will likely be happy to show you grips and other techniques to help with your transition from old to new school. First off, try to throw straight consistantly, not far but, straight. Watching how people throw is also helpful. The best way to learn is to play with people with more skill;so, come out and play the course challenge if you can. It is a cheap and fun tournament!
Fred Salaz
Posted: Tuesday, May 22, 2007 7:08:38 AM

Come to the ace fund at Oxford tonight at 6:00 and some one will be glad to help you out. MIke will have tons of discs available too. Who knows you might win the $200.00 that's in the ace pool.
taylorcm
Posted: Tuesday, May 22, 2007 10:16:55 AM

Thanks for the help all. Any other comments are welcome but I also have another question. My new disc has rough spots on the edges from grounding out on the concrete (came up short trying to cross a road with a shot). Is it adviseable to smooth those out? If so, how? (sandpaper?)
bobherb
Posted: Tuesday, May 22, 2007 11:11:08 AM

Some people use a dry towel with decent success (Freddy).
Sandpaper works too - just don't overdo it.