Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Members

Seeking Putter Advice Options
MikeK
Posted: Wednesday, August 08, 2007 8:27:28 AM

Hey everyone,

I'm still pretty new to the game, and I feel like I mostly understand how the disc weights and plastic types affect drivers (I'll probably realize in about a year that I really don't, but let's pretend I do!), but I'm a little uncertain as to how big of a role they play with putters.

I understand that lighter weights should give me more glide (which translates to more distance), but heavier weights should work better in a headwind. Do most people carry a heavy and a light putter depending on wind and distance?

Then there are the different plastic types. Are their any major advantages/disadvantages to different plastic types when it comes to putters?
bkaplan10
Posted: Wednesday, August 08, 2007 9:13:34 AM

Mike, just buy a couple of max weight (175) aviars are become one with AVIAR NATION!
Kool Keith
Posted: Wednesday, August 08, 2007 9:20:29 AM

Most people don't really carry drastic weight differences in putters. What I see more of is people using the same putter mold in different plastics and levels of "beatness" to throw different flight patterns. I've got 3 Wizards in the bag, and from 15 feet they all fly the same. But if I throwing a 200 foot or more shot with one, then they get very different. They are all the same mold, and same plastic just beat in different stages. I can go a little left, middle, or way right with these three.

As far as the plastic types go... don't putt with Champion/Z and you are okay. They have a tendency to slide/cut through more than D/Dx/S/X/Pro putters. Past that, its all about your comfort level with what you like - I prefer grippy putters with soft tops and firm rims. Some like rock hard KC Pro Aviars, while others throw the exact same mold in a soft JK Pro plastic.