View Article

Icebowl Krazy Series #3 at Lincoln Ridge/Banklick
A beautiful day, a great disc golf course, and an Icebowl Fundraiser for Fairhaven all made for a turnout of 76 disc golfers for the finale at Lincoln Ridge/Banklick on Saturday 2/12/11. We played 2 rounds of 20 holes each, skipping all the creek holes (14-17), upper tees first round, lowers the second.

Cyrus Fuhrman won the Open division in a throw-off with Jeff Vandemark. Jeff Eades took Pro Masters by 3 strokes over Dave Marlow. Justin Ammerman won advanced by a stroke over Mike Naegele. The Advanced Masters division had been hotly contested in the first two Icebowls and this one proceeded to be no different. After 2 rounds of 20, 3 were tied for the lead with Troy Ison taking home the win in a throw-off, Ken Donathan second and Ty Connley third. Sean Christner played his first Icebowl of the year and won the Rec division by 3 strokes over Brian Trapp. Full scores for the Saturday's tourney and the series will be up in a few days.

Kenji Cummings hit an ace on hole 9 to win the Ace Pot of $122.

This turned out to be a sweet way to end the Icebowl Series. We had a great turnout, Dave Hammers shared a heartwarming but tearful story for the disc golfers, we had a raffle for a basket, raffles for discs and all-in-all just a really good time. One bit of fun was during signups, back to back we had a Fishead and a Fishnet (see picture) sign up! Where else is that going to happen?

Here are the results of the raffle drawings: the first name drawn from the pre-registrants of Icebowl #3 for an Icebowl disc and a Star-stamped Star Vulcan was my own, so I threw it back in and then we drew Dave Marlow's; then we drew for the winner of the pre-registrants of all 3 Icebowls for a Fundraiser Dyed Icebowl Katana - Dave Marlow's name was drawn again - he says he never wins anything, well today he did! The drawing for the Innova Discatcher Sport, valued at $200, was won by Ron Godbey. Raffle tickets for the basket were $2 each or 8 for $10, with the proceeds going to Fairhaven.

John Kuhns offered up a pair of Merrell shoes for a silent auction with all the proceeds going to Fairhaven and that was won by Jim Ferrarra.

2011 Icebowl Krazy Series Winners were: Cyrus Fuhrman, Open; Jeff Eades, Pro Masters; Mike Naegele, Advanced; Ty Connley, Advanced Masters; and Brian Trapp, Recreational. Series winners received an Icebowl Trophy disc dyed by Phil Miller of Phly Dyes and either money or merchandise, depending on Pro or Am division.

The 2011 Icebowl Krazy Series was a huge success in raising $2750. We will be presenting a "Big Check" and the actual money/checks to Dave Hammers, CEO of Fairhaven Rescue Mission at the club meeting on 2/21/11 at Uno's in Anderson Township. That would be another good reason to attend the club meeting. Besides the $5 from each entry fee and the mulligan money, we had many people step up and make contributions and I'd like to thank them all. I won't attempt to name them as I know I would forget someone, but a big THANK YOU goes out to you from myself and the GCFDA.
Posted in: Newsletter


# harbake
Tuesday, February 15, 2011 10:55 AM
First time I was able to make it to a Cincy event from Dayton, first time at Lincoln Ridge...very pleased with both experiences...thanks to all involved in the Ice Bowl...BTW...Ice Bowl this weekend at Indian Riffle in Kettering, Oh.

Post Comment

Only registered users may post comments.